### International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace inaugurated in Paraguay

Evaristo Fernandez April 25, 2017



Asunción, Paraguay -- The International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace (IAPP) was inaugurated in Paraguay at an event held at the Bourbon Convention Hotel in Asunción, the country's capital, on April 25, 2017.

One-hundred and twenty-two leaders participated in the event, including current and former parliamentarians, as well as representatives of the executive and judicial branches of the Paraguayan government, Paraguay's diplomatic corps and of the diplomatic corps of other countries, universities, media, and various foundations.

Also in attendance were the mayors of different cities in the Central department (similar to a county) in the Greater Asunción metropolitan area, including the cities of Alonzo, Fernando de la Mora, Lambaré, Luque, Limpio, Ñemby, Mariano Roque and San Lorenzo.

On this occasion, the president, vice president and secretary general of the IAPP-Paraguay were appointed. Paraguayan congresswoman Hon. Cynthia Elizabeth Tarrago Díaz, was appointed as the president; Paraguayan congressman Hon. Héctor Lucio Lesme was appointed as the vice president; and Dr. Michelle Byun was appointed as the secretary general.

Former president of Paraguay, Dr. Luis Federico Franco Gómez, gave the closing remarks for the program. He thanked UPF's founders, Rev. Dr. Sun Myung Moon and Dr. Hak Ja Han Moon, for their long service and dedication to peace and encouraged the parliamentarians in attendance to dedicate themselves with love to protecting the environment, to protecting indigenous peoples, and to ensuring the human rights of all.



The event was covered by the Paraguayan newspaper, ABC Color. The two articles (in Spanish) "<u>Tarragó presidió ayer la Red de Parlamentarios</u>" and "<u>Asociación parlamentaria busca la paz y desarrollo</u>" were published on April 26 and 27, respectively.



# Closing remarks by Dr. Luis Federico Franco Gómez, former president of Paraguay:

"I want to first of all thank the founders of the Universal Peace Federation, Rev. Dr. Sun Myung Moon and Dr. Hak Ja Han Moon, for their long service and dedication to peace, and I encourage our parliamentarians to dedicate themselves with love [to protecting the] environment, to protecting indigenous peoples and to ensuring the human rights [of all]. They cannot disappoint the confidence that people have placed in [them]....They are obliged to maintain loyalty and fidelity to those people who expect much from [them].

Finally, I want to tell Dr. Yang, that Paraguay and Korea are two sister nations, and that Paraguay always opens its doors to the noble Korean people."

### Remarks by Hon. Cynthia Elizabeth Tarrago Díaz, member of the Congress of Paraguay:

"As president of this network of parliamentarians in Latin America, it is a real honor to offer you the most cordial welcome to this gala dinner, which is the starting point for the IAPP.

First of all, I would like to thank the International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace, which comprises parliamentarians from different Latin American countries, for having chosen a woman and Paraguayan representative to lead this [initiative in Latin America]. It is a position I am honored to hold and to which I am committed.

We, as parliamentarians, have a commitment to defend basic human rights, [protect] the environment and tackle poverty as a means to advance peace in the world.

During the World Summit 2017, held in February in Seoul, Korea, more than 150 congressmen from 41 countries formed this Association.

I am convinced that by organizing ourselves and by achieving the noble objectives such as those proposed by UPF, can we greatly alleviate the problems of humanity.

Finally, I want to reiterate my commitment to the fight for peace at all levels of society—in our homes, our institutions and governments.

From the heart of South America, I launch my call for world peace and offer my prayers for a world of tolerance and equality.

Thank you very much.

## Remarks by Hon. Héctor Lucio Lesme, member of the Congress of Paraguay:

"It is an immense honor for me to share this important moment in the history of Paraguay, to be founding the International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace in our country.

Although we have made technological progress, we have problems cooperating with each other. This should not be the case; there must be dialogue, understanding and solidarity in a Christian and multi-party democracy.

The IAPP will become a 'legal tool' for the welfare of humanity and, as we inaugurate this organization, we must move forward with strong steps to advocate for world peace."



#### Parliamentarians who participated:

- 1. Mazacote José Domingo Adorno
- 2. Alvarenga Martínez Eusebio
- 3. Buzarquis Cáceres Enrique Antonio
- 4. Carísimo Sosa María Nimia
- 5. Cáceres Gonzales Mario Duillo
- 6. Decclesis Giménez Freddy Tadeo
- 7. Durand Espínola Dany Edgar Xavier
- 8. Ferreira de López Olga Beatriz
- 9. Harms Céspedes Walter Enrique
- 10. Larre Del Puerto Luis Alberto
- 11. Lesme Delgado Héctor Lucio
- 12. Lezcano Paredes Marcial
- 13. Medina de Paredes Del Pilar Eva
- 14. Morel Alfonzo Purificación
- 15. Oviedo Melgarejo Fabiola Elvira
- 16. Rojas Sosa Sergio
- 17. Tarrago Díaz Cynthia Elizabeth
- 18. Villalba López María Cristina
- 19. Denis Pintos Juan Antonio
- 20. Acosta Alcaraz Edgar
- 21. Emilia Alfaro de Franco

### Ambassadors and representatives of embassies in Paraguay who participated:

- 1. Dr. Federico Perazza, Ambassador of Paraguay
- 2. Dr. Víctor Cuevas, Ambassador of Paraguay to México
- 3. Dr. Federico González Franco, Ambassador of Paraguay to Argentina
- 4. Representative of the Embassy of Spain in Paraguay
- 5. Representative of the Embassy of Peru in Paraguay

Former president of Paraguay, Dr. Federico Franco Gómez, and the governor of the Central department in Paraguay, Dr. Blas Antonio Lanzoni, were also present.

### Representatives of local municipalities who participated:

- 1. Mr. Lucas Lanzoni, representing the city of Ñemby
- 2. Mr. Raul Mendoza, representing the the city of San Antonio
- 3. Mrs. Carolina Aranda, representing the city of Mariano Roque Alonzo
- 4. Mr. Luis González, representing the city of Capiatá
- 5. Mr. Daniel Báez, representing the city of Julián Augusto Saldívar