IAPP Inaugurated in Marshall Islands

Kenichi Ito July 29, 2017



Majuro, Marshall Islands—The International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace (IAPP) has had its official inauguration in the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI).

The inauguration was conducted on July 29, 2017, in the Events Hall of the Marshall Islands Resort in the capital, Majuro.

There were about 21 participants, including two former presidents, a former first lady, a former vice president, one current minister and a vice minister, and current and former members of parliament.

The program began with Rev. Kenichi Ito, president of UPF-Marshall Islands, giving the opening remarks. He explained the background of IAPP and presented an introductory video about UPF.

The main address was given by Hon. Kessai H. Note, a former president of the Marshall Islands who is the co-chair of IAPP-Oceania. Hon. Note detailed his experiences at IAPP events in Nepal, Washington, D.C., and at this year's UPF World Summit in Korea. He explained how IAPP is working for world peace and development and is effectively assisting nations such as RMI in efforts for regional peace and development.

Rev. Gregory Stone, the UPF regional secretary general for Oceania, gave a presentation on the UPF Principles of Peace, emphasizing the importance of integrating universal values within the school curriculum.

Rev. Ito then read the IAPP-RMI resolution statement and invited all the attendees to sign. IAPP-Marshall Islands was thus inaugurated.

An open discussion on the future of IAPP-RMI took place, chaired by Hon. Kessai H. Note.



List of attendees:

Kessai H. Note, senator, co-chair of IAPP-Oceania, president (2000-2007) Litokwa Tomeing, senator, president (2008-2010) Brenson Wase, senator, current minister of finance Anono Lieom Loeak, first lady (2012-2015) Witton Philippo, lawyer, former senator and vice president Phil Philippo, current vice minister of transport and communication, former director of the presidential cabinet Yolanda Lodge, lawyer, former chief secretary of the presidential cabinet Hilton Kendall, member of the constitutional committee, vice president of the RMI Development Bank Jien Lekka, member of the constitutional committee Jim Philippo, vice president of Tobolar (National Cocoa Company) Joe Talley, IT engineer, Persian Gulf War veteran Dean Lajedrick, Majuro local government official Clorida Philippo, national police officer Gregory Stone, secretary general, UPF-Oceania Kenichi Ito, president of UPF-RMI Claire Loeak, assistant to the former first lady Hon. Thom Kijinner, RMI ambassador to Japan and Korea