International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace Launched in Nicaragua

Agustín Jarquin July 7, 2017



Managua, Nicaragua—The Nicaragua chapter of the International Association of Parliamentarians for Peace (IAPP) was launched on July 7, 2017 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Managua, the country's capital.

Among the 140 attendees were former President of Nicaragua H.E. Arnoldo Aleman and his wife, congresswoman Fernanda Flores, and approximately 20 current and former congressmen and women; religious leaders; and presidents of universities. The international delegation comprised of Dr. Chang Shik Yang, secretary general of UPF International; Rev. Sang Suek Kim, president of UPF-Central America and the Caribbean; and Hon. Jose Alberto Alfaro, former president of the National Assembly of Costa Rica and president of IAPP-Central America and the Caribbean.

Opening remarks were given by former Nicaraguan deputy and congressman, Hon. Agustin Jarquin Anaya. UPF-Nicaragua representative, Rev. Jorge de Oliveira, gave a presentation on "True Family," which was followed by remarks by Rev. Kim.

Among the other speakers were Nicaraguan congresswoman Hon. Azucena Castillo, who gave a speech about the role of women in building peace, and Dr. Adrian Meza Sosa, president of Paulo Freire University (Universidad Paulo Freire), who spoke about the role of education in realizing peace. In addition, Dr. Sosa handed a letter of commitment from AONIC, an association of 14 private universities, to work together with UPF and the IAPP on activities that promote peace.

Afterwards, Dr. Yang spoke about the mission of the IAPP and briefly about the activities IAPP has carried out to date around the world. Dr. Yang also emphasized the importance of the Nicaraguan government, which maintains relations with the government of North Korea, in supporting the unification of the Koreas. His remarks were highlighted in television channel 100% Noticias's news.

The event closed with the appointment of Central American Parliament (PARLACEN) congressman and Christian pastor, Hon. Guillermo Osorno, who is also the owner of a television channel, as the president of IAPP-Nicaragua—and the appointment of new Ambassadors for Peace.

Closing remarks were given by Mr. Alfaro. Afterwards, everyone enjoyed the congratulatory banquet.

Among the distinguished participants were:

H.E. Arnoldo Alemán, former president of Nicaragua

Hon. José Alberto Alfaro, former president of the National Assembly of Costa Rica



Current and former congressmen and women:

Hon. Mirtha Carrión, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Azucena Castillo, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Ruth del Socorro Cerda Acosta, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Alfredo Cesar, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Lidia Chavarría, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Maria Fernanda Flores de Alemán, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Carlos García, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Wendy Guido, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Nancy Henriquez, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Roberto Lira, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Brooklyn Rivera, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Luden Rosales, member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Agustín Jarquín Anaya, former member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Mauricio Díaz, former member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Reyna Jerez, former member of the National Assembly of Nicaragua

Hon. Adolfo Martínez Cole, member of the Central American Parliament

Hon. Francisco Soria García, member of the Central American Parliament

Hon. Edgardo Salvador Navas, member of the Central American Parliament

Dr. Wendell Ponce, vice president of North University

Dr. Elmer Acevedo Sánchez, president of Metropolitan University

Dr. Adrián Meza Sosa, president of Paulo Freire University (Universidad Paulo Freire)

Mrs. Ivania Toruno, president of the University of Commercial Sciences (Universidad de Ciencias Comerciales) and a former minister of government

Dr. María Eugenia Acevedo, president of the Association of Lawyers

Dr. Santiago Rivas, executive secretary of FOPREL (Forum of the Presiding Officers of Legislative Assemblies of Central America and the Caribbean Basin)